Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga on Friday approved stricter measures to stamp out soaring coronavirus cases for Tokyo, Okinawa and Kyoto — effective Monday — as variants pose a fresh threat to a public already frazzled by monthslong restrictions.

The measures authorize prefectural governors to request and order establishments, primarily bars and restaurants, to close by 8 p.m. in designated municipalities, as opposed to the prefecture-wide implementation seen in a state of emergency. They will be in place in all of the capital’s 23 wards and six cities — Musashino, Hachioji, Machida, Chofu, Fuchu and Tachikawa — through May 11, while they will be implemented in the city of Kyoto and nine cities in Okinawa Prefecture — Naha, Nago, Uruma, Okinawa, Ginowan, Urasoe, Tomigusuku, Itoman and Nanjo — until May 5.

Unable to view this article?

This could be due to a conflict with your ad-blocking or security software.

Please add japantimes.co.jp and piano.io to your list of allowed sites.

If this does not resolve the issue or you are unable to add the domains to your allowlist, please see out this support page.

We humbly apologize for the inconvenience.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.