ATLANTA — Nepal’s special assembly has chosen Maoist chief Prachanda as prime minister over Sher Bahadur Deuba, a three-time former prime minister from the Nepali Congress party.

The win is based on the Maoists’ control of 227 of 595 assembly seats and the support of the communist UML party and Madheshi People’s Rights Forum, which jointly control 160 votes.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.