• SHARE

In the U.S., the Korean War has been called “the forgotten war” — a sideshow in geopolitics and American novels such as Richard Condon’s “The Manchurian Candidate” or, more recently, Philip Roth’s “Indignation.” The conflict, which lasted from 1950 to 1953, never had an official peace treaty and saw no territorial gains for either the North or South. Not surprisingly, “Who won the Korean War?” is a frequent search on the internet.

But the commercial success of Min Jin Lee’s novel “Pachinko” showed that Korean history can charm Western readers. In the wake of “Pachinko” — and already praised by Lee as “a gorgeous achievement” — comes Eugenia Kim’s novel “The Kinship of Secrets,” an Asian-American saga in the vein of Amy Tan or Pamela Rotner Sakamoto. It is a measuredly moving story of a girl losing and finding a home, the ways in which families grow into units, and immigrants into citizens.

Unable to view this article?

This could be due to a conflict with your ad-blocking or security software.

Please add japantimes.co.jp and piano.io to your list of allowed sites.

If this does not resolve the issue or you are unable to add the domains to your allowlist, please see out this support page.

We humbly apologize for the inconvenience.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.

SUBSCRIBE NOW

PHOTO GALLERY (CLICK TO ENLARGE)