Japan on Tuesday raised its travel advisory for Palestine and 16 countries, including Nepal, Kenya and Venezuela, warning against visiting them amid concerns over the spread of the novel coronavirus.

Foreign Minister Toshimitsu Motegi said the areas were now at Level 3, bringing the total number of countries and regions at the second-highest level on the Foreign Ministry's four-point scale for infectious diseases to 146.

The other newly added areas are Botswana, the Comoros, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Namibia, Paraguay, the Republic of the Congo, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname and Uzbekistan.