The "Five Eyes" intelligence-sharing alliance of English-speaking nations is working with France, Japan and South Korea in an effort to restrain North Korea's provocations, government sources said Sunday.

With the expanded framework, the alliance — which comprises Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the U.K. and the United States — together with the three new partners will strengthen intelligence activities that go beyond the analysis of North Korean ballistic missiles currently undertaken by Japan, South Korea and the United States, the sources said.

Officials from the eight countries gathered last fall and discussed how best to collect information on North Korea, according to the Japanese and U.S. government sources.