Transport ministers from the Group of Seven industrialized countries agreed Saturday to reinforce international cooperation in creating safety regulations to promote self-driving cars.

"We will cooperate with each other and exercise leadership to support the early commercialization of automated and connected vehicle technologies," a declaration adopted at a meeting in the resort town of Karuizawa, Nagano Prefecture, said.

Ministers and representatives from Britain, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan and the United States plus the European Union also pledged in the declaration to set up a group to work on resolving problems pertaining to introducing self-driving cars.