Sumo moved to its current six tournament a year system in 1958 — a change which brought the number of bouts fought in a calendar year up to 90.

Over the following half century, the wrestler with the most victories each year normally clocked in somewhere between the high-60s and the mid-70s.

In 2009, then-yokozuna Hakuho set a new high-water mark, with 86 wins in 90 fights, before repeating that incredible feat the following year.