Prime Minister Keizo Obuchi on Friday declared his bid for re-election as president of the ruling Liberal Democratic Party, while two other contenders — Koichi Kato and Taku Yamasaki — also announced their candidacies.

The LDP will hold its presidential election Sept. 21, about a week before Obuchi’s tenure as LDP chief ends Sept. 30. Obuchi is currently serving out the remainder of the two-year term of his predecessor, Ryutaro Hashimoto, who quit in July 1998.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.