A panel examining the construction of bullet train networks agreed August 26 to decide by late November which of seven sections of four bullet train lines in the Hokkaido, Hokuriku, Kyushu and Tohoku regions will have priority.

The group agreed to first examine the Hachinohe-Shin Aomori section of the Tohoku Shinkansen Line, the Nagano-Joetsu section of the Hokuriku Shinkansen Line and the Funakoya-Shin Yatsushiro of the Kyushu Shinkansen Line.

Unable to view this article?

This could be due to a conflict with your ad-blocking or security software.

Please add japantimes.co.jp and piano.io to your list of allowed sites.

If this does not resolve the issue or you are unable to add the domains to your allowlist, please see out this support page.

We humbly apologize for the inconvenience.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.