Kaori Sakamoto, fresh off her second consecutive world title last week, will captain Japan in the six-nation World Team Trophy figure skating competition to be held from April 13 in Tokyo.

Shoma Uno, also a two-time world champion, and Ryuichi Kihara and Riku Miura, who together won Japan's maiden pairs title at the world championships in Saitama, are among those who will join Sakamoto, according to the team named Monday.

Japan will bid to win for the first time in three World Team meets against rivals such as the United States and Canada.

The Russian team will not participate in this year's competition due to the country's invasion of Ukraine, despite having won the previous meet in 2021.

"I don't know if I can put together the team, but I'll try to do my utmost, including cheering up teammates," Sakamoto said.

Also taking part in the event at Tokyo Metropolitan Gymnasium are France, Italy and South Korea.