Sekiwake Wakatakakage was crowned champion Sunday at the Spring Grand Sumo Tournament, beating former ozeki Takayasu in a title playoff following losses by both joint overnight leaders on a sensational final day in Osaka.

With No. 7 maegashira Takayasu having fallen to sekiwake Abi (8-7), Wakatakakage had a chance to wrap up the Emperor's Cup with a win over ozeki Shodai in the last scheduled bout of the 15-day tournament at Edion Arena Osaka.

But Shodai (9-6), who started the meet as a demotion-threatened kadoban ozeki, had other ideas, forcing out Wakatakakage a day after defeating Takayasu, leaving the leaders tied at 12-3.