Japan to expand entry ban to visitors from India and 10 other nations


Japan is expanding its entry ban to visitors from India and 10 other nations as part of border control steps to contain the spread of the new coronavirus, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe said Monday.

The Foreign Ministry raised its travel advisory for the 11 countries — Afghanistan, Argentina, India, El Salvador, Ghana, Guinea, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh and South Africa — urging against any trips to the areas.

Speaking at a meeting of a government task force on the coronavirus response, Abe also said Japan will maintain the current set of border control measures until the end of June, without elaborating.

The expansion will take effect on May 27.

Your news needs your support

Since the early stages of the COVID-19 crisis, The Japan Times has been providing free access to crucial news on the impact of the novel coronavirus as well as practical information about how to cope with the pandemic. Please consider subscribing today so we can continue offering you up-to-date, in-depth news about Japan.

Coronavirus banner