• Kyodo


The U.S. Treasury Department said Tuesday it has retained Japan, China, South Korea, Germany and Switzerland on a list of countries it monitors over what it calls potentially “unfair” currency practices.

In line with President Donald Trump’s concern over the U.S. trade deficits with Japan, China and other major trading partners, the department said it “remains concerned by the persistence of the large bilateral trade imbalance between the United States and Japan.”

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.