The three Japan-born physicists who won this year's Nobel Prize in physics for inventing energy-efficient blue light-emitting diodes received their prize at a ceremony in Stockholm on Wednesday.

The three are Shuji Nakamura, a professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara, who was born in Japan and later acquired U.S. citizenship, Isamu Akasaki, a professor at Meijo University in the city of Nagoya, and Hiroshi Amano, a professor at Nagoya University.

Nakamura, 60, Akasaki, 85, and Amano, 54, were handed their medals and diplomas by Swedish King Carl XVI Gustaf.