• Kyodo News


This year’s two Japanese Nobel Prize laureates, Akira Suzuki and Eiichi Negishi, have been awarded the Order of Culture, the country’s top cultural award, for fiscal 2010, together with five other recipients, the government said Tuesday.

The other recipients are architect Tadao Ando, 69, nuclear physicist Akito Arima, 80, stage director Yukio Ninagawa, 75, fashion designer Issei Miyake, 72, and medieval historian Haruko Wakita, 76.

The government also chose 17 people as Persons of Cultural Merit for the current fiscal year through next March, including world home run king Sadaharu Oh, 70, actress Sayuri Yoshinaga, 65, cartoonist Shigeru Mizuki, 88, and Kyoto University professor Shinya Yamanaka, 48.

Suzuki, 80, a professor emeritus at Hokkaido University, and Negishi, 75, a professor at Purdue University in the United States, shared the 2010 Nobel Prize in chemistry with American chemist Richard Heck, a professor emeritus at the University of Delaware.

Suzuki and Negishi were also among the 17 people chosen as Persons of Cultural Merit.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.