Hiroshima gives disarmament grades


Hiroshima Prefecture issued a report Thursday grading 19 nations on their efforts to reduce nuclear arms or promote nonproliferation.

The 19 are five major nuclear powers under the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty, four effective “have” nations, including North Korea, and 10 “have-nots,” including Japan.

The “Hiroshima Report” scores these nations in three categories — nuclear arms reduction, nonproliferation and nuclear security — by examining 60 points, including stockpiles of nuclear materials and their management system, based on research by the Japan Institute of International Affairs.

In the nuclear arms reduction area, Britain received the highest score — 35 — on a scale of up to 101 among the five nuclear powers, followed by the United States at 31.5. China was ranked the lowest at 21.