• Kyodo


The government said Saturday it has bestowed names on 39 more uninhabited islands, completing the process of naming all 99 remote islands that determine Japan’s 200-nautical-mile exclusive economic zone.

The Cabinet Secretariat said the newly named islands include Hokusei Kojima and three other islets in the East China Sea near the Senkaku Islands, which are also claimed by China and Taiwan.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.