The Financial Reconstruction Commission formally approved plans Monday to pump 260 billion yen in public funds into the depleted capital bases of four regional banks.

The four are Ashikaga Bank based in Tochigi Prefecture, the Bank of the Ryukyus in Okinawa Prefecture, Hokuriku Bank in Toyama Prefecture and Hiroshima-Sogo Bank in Hiroshima Prefecture.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.