• Kyodo


Japan has agreed with five of the 12 nations involved in the Trans-Pacific Partnership free trade initiative to launch talks, if requested, on their terms of agreement seven years after the pact’s ratification, sources said Wednesday.

The draft of the broadly agreed free trade pact, which could be made public as early as Thursday, includes a provision to allow the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Chile to renegotiate terms of their trade agreements related to tariffs and other arrangements with Japan, they said.

Other TPP members include Brunei, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.