Mount Oyama on Miyake Island and Mount Usu in Hokkaido were among six volcanoes that erupted last year in Japan, the Meteorological Agency said.

The six also include Mount Suribachi on Iwojima in the Ogasawara island chain and volcanoes on three islands, the agency said Tuesday.

Unable to view this article?

This could be due to a conflict with your ad-blocking or security software.

Please add japantimes.co.jp and piano.io to your list of allowed sites.

If this does not resolve the issue or you are unable to add the domains to your allowlist, please see out this support page.

We humbly apologize for the inconvenience.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.