Shigenori Kuremoto hit a “sayonara” homer as Meiji University beat Tokyo University 3-2 in the first round of the Tokyo Big Six Baseball League tournament on Saturday and became the second Japanese university team to record its 1,000th win.

With 691 losses and 84 ties lifetime, Meiji University became the second team after Waseda University to reach the milestone since the league was established in the fall of 1925. Waseda currently has 1,042 wins.

The teams belonging to the Tokyo Big Six Baseball League are Meiji University, Waseda University, Tokyo University, Keio University, Rikkio University and Hosei University.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.