Fukui Toshihiko was officially sworn in as new governor of the Bank of Japan on Thursday, with former Vice Finance Minister Toshiro Muto and Kazumasa Iwata, a senior Cabinet official, appointed as vice governors. Under the revised BOJ Law of 1998, all members of the BOJ Policy Board are to serve a five-year tenure. It is Fukui, Muto and Iwata, plus the six other members currently on the board, who will be responsible for steering the nation’s monetary policy in the coming years.

Expectations are high for deflation-fighting measures as economic conditions remain severe. However, it would be unrealistic to think that the inauguration of a new BOJ team will lead to dramatic changes. Consumer prices are on a downward trend worldwide, and China, which continues to enjoy rapid economic growth, is no exception.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.