Seven gold medalists from the Nagano Paralympics received Emperor’s Cups from Prime Minister Ryutaro Hashimoto in a ceremony at the Prime Minister’s Official Residence on March 26.

The recipients of the award, a pair of silver cups, were: Yutaka Takeda and Toshiki Watanabe for the ice-sledge speed races; Kuniko Obinata for the women’s Alpine skiing; Wakako Tsuchida and Miki Matsue for women’s ice-sledge speed races; Masahiro Shitaka for Alpine skiing; and Miyuki Kobayashi for the women’s biathlon for blind athletes.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.