KYOTO — An international group of engineers who developed the world’s first microprocessor in 1971 were among the laureates of this year’s Kyoto Prize, presented Monday by the Inamori Foundation.

Masatoshi Shima of Japan, Federico Faggin of Italy, and Marcian Hoff and Stanley Mazor of the United States jointly received the prize in the field of advanced technology.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.