Prime Minister Fumio Kishida said Tuesday night that the government plans to issue quasi-emergencies measures for 13 prefectures where the omicron variant of the coronavirus is increasing as nationwide cases hit a record 30,000.

The 13 prefectures are: Tokyo, Saitama, Chiba, Kanagawa, Gunma, Niigata, Gifu, Aichi, Mie, Kumamoto, Miyazaki, Nagasaki and Kagawa.

With quasi-emergency measures already in place in Yamaguchi, Okinawa and Hiroshima prefectures, applying it to the further 13 prefectures that have either requested or may request such measures would bring the total to 16 out of 47 prefectures. Osaka, Kyoto and Hyogo prefectures are also considering doing the same, with plans for the governors to hold discussions on Wednesday.