Koga places second in 100 back

IRVINE, Calif. (Kyodo) Junya Koga took the silver in the men’s 100-meter backstroke at the Pan Pacific Swimming Championships on Wednesday.

Koga, the 2009 world champion, touched the wall in 53.63 seconds, finishing behind Olympic champion Aaron Peirsol of the United States, who timed 53.31 for the victory.

Ryosuke Irie, who owns the Japanese national record, came fourth in 53.71.

In women’s action, Aya Terakawa produced a personal best 59.59 to come second in the 100 backstroke won by Emily Seebohm of Australia in 59.45. American Natalie Coughlin placed third in 59.70.

Michael Phelps dominated to win the men’s 200 butterfly in 1 minute, 54.11 seconds for the fastest time in the world this year. Australia’s Nick D’Arcy was second in 1:54.73 while Olympic bronze medalist Takeshi Matsuda came third in 1:54.81.