The Premier League title race is becoming a little like an Agatha Christie play. Initially there are six suspects, then one by one they disappear for whatever reason.

The half a dozen clubs we thought would compete in the most exciting challenge to be champion of England in recent memory were Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham. While much can happen in the second half of the season the impression is we could be heading for a two-horse race come spring.

There are several consistencies that the title winner possesses, including not losing more than five games (City and United have already lost three apiece) and not having a dodgy goalkeeper. The champion this millennium has always had an outstanding goalkeeper —Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester), David de Gea, Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United), Joe Hart (Manchester City) and Petr Cech (Chelsea).