World No. 4 Kei Nishikori will play for the Japan Warriors in the International Premier Tennis League in December, organizers said Tuesday.

The Japan round, being held for the first time, will take place from Dec. 2-4 at Kobe World Memorial Hall.

The IPTL was launched last year with teams in four Asian cities: Dubai, Manila, New Delhi and Singapore. Five teams — Indian Aces, Japan Warriors, Philippine Mavericks, Singapore Slammers and UAE Royals — will compete this season.

Russian superstar Maria Sharapova and Kurumi Nara have also been named to the Japan Warriors team.

Serbia’s world No. 1 Novak Djokovic and second-ranked Swiss Roger Federer will also take part in this season’s competition.

An IPTL tie is made up of five one-set shootouts in men’s and women’s singles, men’s and mixed doubles and a past champions match. The team that wins the most games, not sets, is declared the winner.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.