We still have more than 2,000 days to go until the 2020 Tokyo Olympics begin, but it is never too early to speculate on a some of the mystery that will surround the Opening Ceremony.

After the participating nations march into the new Olympic Stadium, who will Japan choose to carry in the Olympic flag?

This is an honor generally reserved for eight prominent past Olympians of the host country or their relatives. Let's take a look back 30 years at the 1984 Los Angeles Games, which I was fortunate enough to attend, and see who the United States selected: