Kato, Kodaira earn national titles


Joji Kato claimed his first title since 2007 and Nao Kodaira won the women’s event for the second year in a row at the national sprint championships Wednesday.

Vancouver Olympic 500-meter bronze medalist Kato placed second in the 500 in 35.35 seconds and won the 1,000 in 1:11.86 on the final day for a four-race total of 142.225 points.

Kodaira had a meet-record total of 154.285 points after taking second in the 500 in 38.64 and winning the 1,000 in 1:17.31.