• Kyodo News


J. League champions Nagoya Grampus produced seven candidates for this season’s player of the year honors on Sunday including 2010 World Cup heroes Marcus Tulio Tanaka and Seigo Narazaki.

A total of 29 players were nominated for the MVP and the Best XI, which will be announced at the annual J. League Awards on Monday. Narazaki and Kashima Antlers’ Hitoshi Sogahata were the only goalkeepers among the nominees.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.