Yasuharu Imano and Keiichiro Fukabori have been selected from the Japanese tour for next month’s Royal Trophy team competition between Asia and Europe, the Japan Golf Tour Organization said Wednesday.

Imano and Fukabori are among eight players from Asia, who also include Japan-based S.K. Ho of South Korea, India’s Jyoti Randhawa, 2005 Asian tour money winner Thaworn Wiratchant and Thai compatriot Thongchai Jaidee.

Non-playing captain Masahiro Kuramoto picked U.S. PGA player Arjun Atwal of India and China’s Zhang Lianwei to round off the Asia team for the inaugural Ryder Cup-style event to be held at Amata Spring Country Club in Bangkok on Jan. 7-8.

Seve Ballesteros has been named captain for the European team, whose members will be announced shortly.

The competition is sanctioned by the Japanese, Asian and European tours.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.