Komazawa University, second at the halfway point after Thursday’s race, came from behind to win back-to-back titles in the Tokyo-Hakone collegiate ekiden road relay Friday.

Kiyotaka Shimamura overtook Tsuyoshi Seike of first-day leader Yamanashi Gakuin University during the penultimate leg and Komazawa went on to secure its third victory in the annual New Year event with a two-day total time of 11 hours, 3 minutes, 47 seconds over 10 legs and 216.4 km.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.