The Liberal Democratic Party has elected former Finance Minister Sadakazu Tanigaki as its new president.

By garnering about 60 percent of the total vote — 120 of the 199 LDP Diet member votes, and 180 of the 300 votes distributed among the LDP’s local chapters — he defeated former Vice Justice Minister Taro Kono and Mr. Yasutoshi Nishimura, a Lower House member who has just won his third term.

Unable to view this article?

This could be due to a conflict with your ad-blocking or security software.

Please add japantimes.co.jp and piano.io to your list of allowed sites.

If this does not resolve the issue or you are unable to add the domains to your allowlist, please see out this support page.

We humbly apologize for the inconvenience.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.