• Kyodo


Chief negotiators from 12 countries resumed talks Saturday in Guam on a U.S.-led Pacific free trade initiative, and will seek to narrow remaining gaps over intellectual property and other sticking points blocking a deal affecting roughly 40 percent of world trade.

The prospects of the 10-day session are unclear, however, as the U.S. Congress has yet to pass a fast-track trade bill seen as crucial to reaching agreement on the Trans-Pacific Partnership trade pact.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.