• Kyodo


The mayors of five municipalities in Niigata Prefecture said Saturday they will accept debris generated by the March 2011 earthquake and tsunami.

Local authorities in Niigata, Nagaoka, Kashiwazaki, Sanjo and Shibata will hold briefing sessions for their residents in April before accepting the debris.

“We received support in the past when we were hit by earthquakes and floods,” Niigata Mayor Akira Shinoda told a joint news conference.

The shipments must contain less than 100 becquerels of radioactive cesium per kilogram, in line with central government safety standards.