• Kyodo News


The 142nd Naoki Prize has been awarded to popular writers Kazufumi Shiraishi and Jo Sasaki, the selection committee said Thursday.

The committee, however, did not select a winner of the Akutagawa Prize for up-and-coming authors for the first time since the 121st selection in 1999.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.