Representatives from five Liberal Democratic Party factions agreed Monday to form a joint election campaign headquarters to support re-election of Prime Minister Keizo Obuchi as party president, faction officials said.

The five factions are those led respectively by Obuchi, LDP Secretary General Yoshiro Mori, Kazuo Tanikawa, Yohei Kono and one jointly led by Takami Eto and Shizuka Kamei.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.