The Japan Art Association on Wednesday announced this year’s winners of its Praemium Imperiale awards, including Japanese architect Fumihiko Maki, who is widely known for his innovative and modern style.

Born in Tokyo in 1928, Maki studied architecture at the University of Tokyo and Harvard University. His works include the Hillside Terrace Apartments in Tokyo, the National Museum of Modern Art in Kyoto and the Floating Pavilion in Groningen, Netherlands.

The award for painting went to Germany’s Anselm Kiefer, who was “one of the first artists in Germany to confront the politics of his country’s volatile past,” association officials said. Through his oft-controversial works, which include artists books as well as paintings, he exposes the deeply buried psychological scars of his postwar generation.

An 87-year-old American, Louise Bourgeois, won the award for sculpture. A pioneer of “installation art” and an inspiration for process and performance art and feminism in the 1970s and neoexpressionism and body art in the 1980s and 1990s, Bourgeois created works that “capture the complexities and nuances of the human body and spirit,” according to the association.

Canadian pianist Oscar Peterson became the first jazz musician to win the prize for music. He has toured around the world and recorded over 200 albums, and is also renowned as a composer, publishing more than 300 compositions. Peterson, 74, is still performing.

The theater/film prize was awarded to Germany’s Pina Bausch, the founder and producer of the theater company Tanztheater Wuppertal. She describes her work as “being about relationships, childhood, fear of death and how much we all want to be loved.”

Bausch has been credited with establishing a new genre by uniting dance and theatrical performance in her productions, which number more than 30 since she founded the company in 1973.

The Praemium Imperiale awards were created by the association in 1988 to honor lifetime achievements in the arts. The award’s international advisers include former Prime Minister Yasuhiro Nakasone and David Rockefeller Jr.

The winners will be presented with a commemorative medal and an honorarium of 15 million yen at an awards ceremony at the Meiji Memorial Hall on Oct. 28.

Coronavirus banner