The newly expanded Democratic Party of Japan will effectively begin operating today under a new executive lineup headed by current DPJ head Naoto Kan.

The new DPJ is to be formed April 27 by the amalgamation of four parties — the current DPJ, Minseito (Good Governance Party), Shinto Yuai (Amity Party) and the Democratic Reform Party. The four parties currently form the parliamentary group Minyuren.

In a time of both misinformation and too much information, quality journalism is more crucial than ever.
By subscribing, you can help us get the story right.