Blue Planet Prize honors contributions of female pioneers

Norway’s former prime minister and a leading U.S. atmospheric scientist are the recipients of this year’s Blue Planet Prize for their contributions to the search for solutions to global environmental problems, the award body said Wednesday.

The two are Gro Harlem Brundtland, credited for championing the principle of sustainable development as chair of the World Commission of Environment and Development, and Susan Solomon, a senior scientist of the Aeronomy Laboratory of the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, who pioneered work to identify the mechanism that produces the Antarctic ozone hole, the Asahi Glass Foundation said.

Brundtland, 65, became chairwoman of the U.N. commission in 1983 and compiled a report on sustainable development, an idea that aims to balance environmental conservation and economic growth. The report became the driving force of the 1992 Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro.